Taking care of business!

Day 16,  Monday, September 13, 2010

Today was the day to take care of business. Rachel stayed overnight last night. We had a lovely breakfast on the terrace and caught up with her doings after we went our separate ways last night. She was going to the train station to return to Bologna. I went with her and  continued on to Piazzale Roma, where they sell Venice Card passes for the vaporetto. I wanted a pass that lets you buy cheaper tickets. First I waited in line at the wrong window. I had to go out of the office and around the corner. I walked into a room full of people and tried to figure out what to do. I was glad I decided to wait until today to do this, and not on the first day with all my suitcases. As I was looking around, a young girl who was also waiting (named Jessica) came over and told me the procedure. All in Italian and hand gestures. I had to push a button for #2 on a machine to get a number to wait for my turn. We were on number 118 and an older couple was with one of the clerks. The number I picked was #160. There was another clerk handling our task and then two others who were doing other things. Even when they were freed up, they did not help with the bottleneck. They literally stood there doing nothing.  The older couple (#118) was at the window for 45 minutes, asking questions and slowly filling in forms.  The only good thing was that a lot of people left. Jessica and her friend were very helpful. I saw that Jessica had filled in her form already, so I looked it over to see what I needed. A young boy standing nearby had studied English in school and came over to put in his two cents worth.  It was really sweet. He helped us figure out that my passport number should be used in the place of their numbers issued by the government. Jessica decided that I should have her number, which was #149 and she would take #160.  When the old couple finally finished and left, there were many silent cheers. Then they kept going through the numbers, but it was still taking a long time. I offered Jessica back her earlier number, but she said no. I got to the window and was able to get everything done. The whole thing took 1.5 hours. It turns out I had to go again with a friend on Tuesday because her card had expired, and when she finished, they gave her a timetable and a book on how to use everything. So, while I was there, I got the copies they should have given me on Monday.

I was ready for lunch by this time. I kept walking and looking for a restaurant that looked out of the way. I finally found one very far away. It was right on the canal, across from Tre Archi vaporetto stop. They had a 15 euro workman’s lunch and it was not a tourist place. Or at least not the kind you see near the tourist attractions. I saw a guy wearing a T shirt with Lake Chabot on it and I asked if he was really from Oakland. He said he was and  he and his girlfriend sat near me and we talked through lunch. They were staying nearby at a place recommended by a friend who lives in Italy, and the restaurant was recommended by the bed and breakfast people. A couple arrived by boat and the boat was pretty far from the dock. She jumped off the boat onto the restaurant grounds. Later, when they were leaving, I was watching to see her jump back on the boat. I missed it, but heard the thump when they landed. Here is a picture of them and their boat:

Fortified, I was ready to search for the synagogue in the ghetto and get permission to attend Yom Kippur services.  I crossed the bridge and found an alley into the ghetto. It took awhile and a run-around from someone who would rather get me to his group to worship, but persistence paid off and I finally found the Sephardic synagogue. He had said that I could only go to the synagogue if I booked a tour. Preferably with him. Rachel had recommended the Sephardic synagogue as one I would like.  I gave the secretary my documents and she made copies and gave me a schedule.  I will go there on Friday night to hear the prayer service I love, Kol Nidre.

I found a back way home, so I can return quickly on Friday night. It was an interesting street that I will return to when the shops are open. I found a costume store that all you burners would love.

And some more interesting things from hardware stores. I can’t resist.

I went on another night ride on the vaporetto after dinner. It’s fun to be able to see inside these elegant buildings.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Taking care of business!

  1. Neon

    Love the costumes!

  2. I will definitely go in when they are open! I was thinking of you guys when I found this!

  3. Trudi Marinovich

    My email is primarily business related with a few personals. I find myself breathlessly awaiting mail from the exciting adventures of Giuditta in Italy. Savoring all the sights and sounds (because i actually think I can hear you , and see everything)…….of our heroine Giuditta!

    • Thanks, Trudi! I’m glad you like it! I will keep them coming! When you get to the post about the island of Burano, think of that blue house we talked about on Balboa. The whole island had that same spirit! Amazing.

Leave a comment